Why isn't scrapple naturally gluten-free? Let's look at the typical scrapple ingredients:
- Pork Skins
- Pork Livers
- Pork Fat
- Pork Hearts
Mmm, sounds delicious, and completely gluten free! Come one, come all, my celiac friends, and dig in to some scrapple!
Wait, not so fast! That's not everything!
Oh right. Scrapple isn't just pork scraps.
Let's have a quick rundown on the basics of how scrapple is made: